Guest blog – Jamie Cliffe on health and safety in Nigeria

From Abuja with Love

My visit to Abuja, the capital of Nigeria, was rather different to the other trips that I’ve written about, which typically have been for the purpose of getting a feel for the business potential of a country. But there’s no doubting the potential of Nigeria, which, by 2020, is forecast to become one of the countries with the greatest expenditure on construction in the whole world. There is lots of development in Nigeria, and SMTS has already secured a long term relationship with Pottersmark Services, a Nigerian H&S Training company and has already been running successful training courses in the country for the past three years.

But this was my first time in Abuja and my reason for traveling there this year was to attend the 54th General Meeting and Conference of the Federation of Construction Industry (FOCI).

As a typical Brit, I went with some degree of trepidation; many travel websites, caution Brits to steer clear of Nigeria, and in fact during my visit there a Brit was kidnapped for three days but returned safely. It’s said that it can be dangerous in certain places as it is a country that has suffered from civil and religious unrest, but perhaps this level of perception is driven by the highly-publicised perceived risk of those working for the Major Oil companies in the oil rich delta states. But where in the world don’t you have conflict where extreme poverty and wealth exist side-by-side?

I soon found out that Abuja did not feel at all threatening ; although, I really had no idea what to expect. I could see, as the plane came in to land, that Nigeria is fundamentally a tropical land but and as far capitals go, Abuja is very young. It’s relatively small both in terms of its geography as well as population size – which is about three million; the terrain is flat and spread out and the architecture basic.

Yet, I totally fell in love with the place, and for so many reasons.

It is no exaggeration to say that the conference was the best that I’ve ever attended. This may seem a surprising statement, given that the administrative aspects of the organisation was not as regimented as that in Northern Europe, however, maybe it was all the better for that in so much as it did capture a real collegiate spirit. The reason for me saying that it was so wonderful and cohesive was, as ever, due extensively to the people, the sheer unique energy they exude which is very invigorating and infectious, and gave the event a great atmosphere.

My perspective was also coloured by the real respect and welcome extended to us exhibitors. The reason the more formal part of the conference was late starting was an extraordinary one. The Chairman of the Federation, Engineer Williams arrived looking very dignified in his sash and medals – more like a mayor than a construction industry chief – with the entirety of the delegates in tow and then proceeded in handing each exhibitor the microphone and we were all given the opportunity to address the delegates for 10 minutes! Imagine that happening at a European conference. In fact, I can’t imagine being treated with such reverence as an exhibitor anywhere else in the world.

Clearly, the exhibitors were all there to sell products, but we were thanked heartily and publically for coming. Nigerians are talkative, friendly people with big, warm handshakes and even bigger and warmer smiles. They make you feel good and I think we can all learn from their attitude and energy.

In terms of business and networking it was a very successful conference. While I had the mic Engineer Williams asked if SMTS would work with them to develop training programs for the members, which of course I said “we would be delighted to do”. We met all of the major players and the conference dinner was a truly amazing event. With Government Ministers and key members at the conference dinner, it gave me great faith in FOCI and the future of health and safety in construction in Nigeria.

The dinner itself was a memorable occasion for many reasons but one of my highlights was the food. Being a rather picky eater, I am always a little wary before these occasions. It turned out to be a buffet and the menu was pretty unusual to a Brit, with some quite different meals and stews but it was the most amazing food I have ever tasted, hot spicy and so utterly delicious. It turned from “oh I am going to have to sit here and look like I am enjoying this, is everybody looking at the expression on my face” to “do you think anyone would notice if a got up AGAIN and had another plate full”. It was just superb.

Irrespective of the wonderful food, it was a lovely occasion. The Chairman, Vice-Chairman, and Treasurer plus their vices and deputies were all seated on a dais, like royalty, dressed in their sashes and gold, and it took nearly an hour to welcome everyone formally. We were all introduced as ‘distinguished guests’ and our hosts demonstrated their generosity of spirit and genuine interest in people, mentioning, not only their industry milestones but also personal, academic and family achievements as well. It made me realise that to some extent we have lost our way in Northern Europe, with these types of events being slick, well choreographed and at times, cold.

I have to confess that even though I was there for business rather than pleasure, I also had the time of my life. The conference took place right in the middle of the world cup group stages and I was lucky enough to be there during the final game in the group stage between Nigeria and South Korea. Being in Africa during the World Cup was good enough but being in the capital of Nigeria on the night that they needed a great result to get through to the elimination rounds was just such an experience. I was in the hotel bar, when of course as kick-off approached suddenly filled up with Nigerians, whose passion for the game brought the bar to a standstill for 90 mins. I do not make apology for describing this in detail, it was just one of those moments that makes all our lives individual, what an experience, even though Nigeria could not pull-off the dream and move on.  This was mirrored by an extraordinary experience when, after the conference dinner, a group of us from the conference “let our hair down” and went to a well known Abuja nightspot. Now I was expecting the usual dreary and clichéd mirror-ball and double decks but instead there was an outdoor stage in a courtyard with local bands playing their particular regions music all complemented with more spicy barbequed food. It was truly a night to remember and was a long way from reading the travel security warnings a few days before.

So, as with anyone exhibiting at a conference, it is at times frustrating, hard work and draining but still, I left Abuja thinking that I am the luckiest guy on the planet to get to travel to such an amazing place, to meet wonderful people, and hopefully offer them products to help them make a real difference.

There is no doubt in my mind that there is a real commitment in Nigeria to make a difference and though health and safety is not currently a big consideration, there is a great determination to make it so. I have a real admiration for the Federation and have faith in its drive and vision to get programmes up and running and to make real progress. Having been invited to help develop some programmes, I can’t wait to go back to Abuja regularly and to see how they are achieving this goal, as I am sure they will.

Jamie Cliffe
jamie.cliffe@smtsltd.com

Jamie Cliffe has more than 20 years’ experience within the petroleum downstream environment, and is currently managing director of safety training provider SMTS.

Leave a comment